Lyric Opera Press Room

For general inquiries, including interview requests, please contact:

Holly Gilson 
Deputy Director of Communications 
hgilson@lyricopera.org
312.827.5939

Magda Krance
Manager of Media Relations
mkrance@lyricopera.org
312.827.5924

Kamaria Morris
Public Relations Specialist
kmorris@lyricopera.org
312.827.5928

For production photos, please contact:
Stefany Phillips 
Marketing & PR Coordinator
sphillips@lyricopera.org
312.827.5936

Contact details and general information:
Lyric Opera of Chicago
Marketing + PR Department
20 N. Wacker Dr., Suite 860
Chicago, IL 60606


Tuesday, December 20, 2016 — Film star Richard E. Grant and Broadway’s Lisa O’Hare to headline Lyric Opera’s grand­scale production of Lerner and Loewe’s My Fair Lady; Lyric premiere also features Bryce Pinkham, Donald Maxwell and Nicholas Le Prevost — April 28–­May 21, 2017

Monday, December 19, 2016 — BEL CANTO, Lyric Opera of Chicago’s world­-premiere production, to receive broadcast premiere nationally on Great Performances Friday, January 13 at 9pm CST on PBS — Free screening at Lyric’s Civic Opera House at 7:30pm

Wednesday, December 15, 2016 — Broadway star Jessie Mueller and Gospel and GRAMMY-winning recording artist Michelle Williams announced as performers for Lyric’s Chicago Voices Concert — The biggest night in Chicago music honors the iconic sounds of the city! Saturday, February 4 at 7:30pm, Lyric’s Civic Opera House; Tickets on sale now!

Tuesday, December 13, 2016 — Lyric Unlimited and the Chicago History Museum present: Chicago Voices TALK! Tickets now on sale for three exciting panel discussions and live performance events exploring Chicago’s vocal history!

Wednesday, December 7, 2016 — A timeless tale of passion, betrayal, and redemption – and brilliant bel canto singing – Norma opens Saturday, January 28, 7:30pm in a new-to-Chicago production

Wednesday, November 14, 2016 — Chicago Voices VIEW: Three photography exhibits open across the city December 2 – February 4 celebrating Chicago’s unique vocal heritage!

Tuesday, November 1, 2016 — A treasured gift for the whole family! Enchantment, evil, love, and goodness mingle in Mozart’s The Magic Flute opening Saturday, December 10, 7:30pm in a new Lyric production; 11 performances through January 27 

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago to hold ensemble auditions for singers and dancers for My Fair Lady November 21, 28, 29, and 30, 2016

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 — Susan Graham replaces Sophie Koch as Dido in Lyric’s Les Troyens

Monday, October 24, 2016 — Impossible dreams, profoundly beautiful music: Don Quichotte returns to Lyric starring the incomparable Ferruccio Furlanetto November 19 – December 7

Thursday, October 20, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago Renews Anthony Freud’s Contract as General Director

Wednesday, October 19, 2016 — Once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see this epic opera! The Trojans (Les Troyens) premieres at Lyric on Sunday, November 13 at 1:00 p.m.; Only five performances through December 3

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 — Lyric Opera Presents: An Afternoon of Chamber Music by Mozart at St. James Cathedral, Saturday, November 12 at 2 p.m.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 — Hats Off to Lyric From Cubs Manager Joe Maddon! Operathon 2016 on 98.7WFMT & WFMT.com Saturday, October 15, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago’s first installment of Wagner’s Ring cycle Das Rheingold draws rave reviews from audience and critics! Performances through Oct. 22

Tuesday, September 27, 2016 — There’s more to enjoy this fall with Lyric Opera of Chicago! Free and low-cost special events to celebrate the launch of another wonderful season of music!

Thursday, September 22, 2016 — The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center at Lyric Opera of Chicago Announces Singers Selected for the 2017/18 Ensemble at Final Auditions

Tuesday, September 20, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago’s 62nd season opens with the first installment of Wagner’s magnificent Ring cycle Das Rheingold; Lyric Opera of Chicago’s Opening Night Gala and Opera Ball on Saturday, October 1

Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — Casting Announced for Lyric Opera and The Second City’s production of Longer! Louder! Wagner! The Second City Wagner Companion — The original musical comedy production inspired by Ring composer Richard Wagner runs October 27 – October 30

Thursday, September 1, 2016 — A new Ring begins! Sir Andrew Davis conducts Das Rheingold Saturday, October 1, at 6 p.m., to open Lyric’s 62nd season — Six performances through October 22

Thursday, August 11, 2016 — Lyric Unlimited Presents A New Opera for Young People: Jason and the Argonauts — By composer Gregory Spears and librettist Kathryn Walat, the opera premieres August 20 and 21 at Chicago’s Vittum Theater

Thursday, August 4, 2016 — "Stars of Lyric Opera at Millennium Park" Free Concert — Sir Andrew Davis conducts the Lyric Opera Orchestra and Chorus

Wednesday, July 27, 2016 — Chicago Voices Concert: A One-Night Only, Multi-Genre Concert Celebrating Chicago’s Diverse Musical Past and
Present! Saturday, February 4 at 7:30pm, Lyric’s Civic Opera House; Tickets are on sale now!


Tuesday, July 12 , 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago and The Second City — together again! Longer! Louder! Wagner! The Second City Wagner Companion — An original musical comedy inspired by RING composer Richard Wagner: 6 performances October 27 – October 30

Thursday, July 7, 2016 — Single Tickets on Sale Thursday, July 7 at 11am for Eight Grand Operas and One Classic American Musical in Lyric Opera of Chicago’s 2016/17 Season

Thursday, July 7, 2016 — There’s more than grand opera to enjoy with Lyric! Tickets on sale Thursday, July 7 at 11am for special limited-engagement performances: Chicago Voices Gala Concert, Celebrating Plácido, Charlie Parker’s Yardbird, violinist Itzhak Perlman in Recital, and more

Monday, May 23, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago to hold dance auditions for Carmen by Georges Bizet on Monday, June 20, 2016, and Eugene Onegin by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky on Monday, June 27, 2016

Monday, May 9, 2016 — Lyric Unlimited Presents A World-Premiere Youth Opera: Jason and the Argonauts — A new opera for young people with music by Gregory Spears and libretto by Kathryn Walat debuts at Chicago’s Vittum Theater August 20 and 21; Free and open to the public

Monday, May 2, 2016 — Winners announced for Lyric's Chicago Voices Community Created Performances — Three Chicago groups will share their stories on stage

Friday, April 29, 2016 — Lyric Opera’s grand-scale production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The King and I opens tonight, April 29 — Performances through May 22 at the Civic Opera House, 20 N. Wacker Dr.

Thursday, April 28, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago to hold dance auditions for Hector Berlioz’s Les Troyens — Helen Pickett, choreographer — Tuesday and Wednesday May 31 and June 1, 2016

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 — Public voting now open for Lyric’s Chicago Voices’ Community Created Performances; the public will choose the top three finalist groups

Monday, April 4, 2016 — Chicagoland children’s ensemble announced for Lyric Opera’s grand-scale production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The King and I

Monday, March 7, 2016 — First Look: Kate Baldwin and Paolo Montalban as Anna Leonowens and the King of Siam in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The King and I, a grand-scale production at Lyric Opera of Chicago April 29 – May 22, 2016; press opening April 30

Friday, March 4, 2016 — Romantic comedy, sublimely beautiful music ... plus love triangles and double-cross-dressing! Der Rosenkavalier continues tonight at Lyric now starring Alice Coote in the title role

Wednesday, March 2, 2016 — Lyric Opera productions and artists shortlisted for International Opera Awards 2016

Monday, February 29, 2016 — Due to popular demand, additional dates for public backstage tours are now available for Lyric Opera of Chicago’s Civic Opera House!

Monday, February 22, 2016 — Rediscover Shakespeare’s most famous love story through opera! Charles Gounod’s ROMEO AND JULIET opens tonight at Lyric in a new-to-Chicago production by Tony Award-winning director Bartlett Sher as a centerpiece of the yearlong Shakespeare 400 Chicago festival

Wednesday, February 17, 2016 — Chicago Voices wants YOU to tell YOUR community’s story through song! Community Created Performances accepting applications through March 7; winners to receive $10,000 + professional support — New Lyric Opera initiative celebrates Chicago’s diverse music culture

Thursday, February 11, 2016 — Broadway artists Ali Ewoldt, Alan Ariano and Rona Figueroa join cast of Lyric Opera’s grand-scale production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s The King and I; Chicagoland artists also announced for principal roles — April 29–May 22, 2016


Thursday, February 4, 2016 — Heartwarming music for a cold winter’s night — Dmitri Hvorostovsky in Recital at Lyric Friday, February 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Monday, February 1, 2016 — Subscriptions on sale today, Monday, February 1 at 10 a.m., for Lyric Opera of Chicago's 2016/17 Season

Thursday, January 14, 2016 — Lyric Opera of Chicago’s 2016/17 Season launches new Ring cycle with Das Rheingold and continues with Lucia di Lammermoor, Les Troyens, Don Quichotte, The Magic Flute, Norma, Carmen, and Eugene Onegin, plus My Fair Lady and Charlie Parker’s Yardbird, and special concert performances by Plácido Domingo, Renée Fleming, Lawrence Brownlee & Eric Owens, and Itzhak Perlman

Monday, January 11, 2016 — Broadway stars Kate Baldwin and Paolo Montalban to headline Lyric Opera's grand-scale production of Rodgers and Hammerstein's The King and I, April 29–May 22, 2016

Friday, January 8, 2016 — Lyric Opera and Creative Consultant Renée Fleming Announce Chicago Voices!
Top