Student Backstage Tours




As an introduction to the art form, nothing captures the imagination more than a tour of a working opera house.


Overview

Lyric Unlimited's Student Backstage Tours are led by guides whose training centers on teaching through engagement — questioning, discussion, and problem solving — and tapping into the unique qualities of each student group. 

As students journey through the various production areas, they learn about the myriad elements that combine to create a grand opera performance and the vast array of professional skills involved. They see places and things that most Lyric patrons only dream of seeing, and they leave the tour with lasting insider knowledge about the world of opera.

Grade Levels: 3-12
Tour Length: Approximately 80 minutes long per group
Cost: $7 per person

At least 10 people are needed to book a tour, 1 to 2 chaperones are required per group



Student Backstage Tours are supported by the Shirley and Benjamin Gould Endowment Fund and Dan J. Epstein, Judy Guitelman, and the Dan J. Epstein Family Foundation

Lyric Unlimited Chicago Public Schools Bus Scholarships are supported by the U.S. Bank Foundation.

2018/19 Season Student Backstage Tour Dates

Student Backstage Tour reservations are available between 9:30am and 2:00pm for the following dates:

Wednesday 10/24/18
Friday 11/30/18
Monday 12/3/18
Thursday 12/6/18
Friday 1/11/19
Thursday 2/14/19
Friday 3/1/19 - available from 9:30am - 1:00pm this date.
Monday 3/4/19
Friday 3/8/19
Monday 3/11/19
Wednesday 3/13/19
Thursday 3/14/19
Wednesday 4/17/19

Download Order Form
Top