The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center Board


The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center Board is led by longtime Lyric supporter, Donna VanEekeren. Since its inception in 1974, the Ryan Opera Center has been recognized as one of the premier professional artist development programs in the world. Each season, several current and former Ensemble members perform important roles in Lyric's mainstage productions. The Board takes great pride in helping to nurture the talents of the best emerging artists of the next generation.

Ryan Opera Center Board Members

Last updated November 11, 2020

Honorary Co-Chairs
Patrick G. and Shirley Welsh Ryan

Donna Van Eekeren

Vice President – At Large
Julie Baskes*

Vice President – At Large
Janet Burch

Vice President - Fundraising
Phil Lumpkin

Vice President – Fundraising Co-Chair
John Nitschke*

Vice President - Nominating
Debbie Wright

Vice President – Nominating Co-Chair
David Fox

Vice President – Strategic Planning
Juliana Chyu

Vice President – Strategic Planning Co-Chair
Nasrin Thierer

Salme Harju Steinberg

Chester T. Kamin



Heidi Bohn

Tanja Chevalier

Lawrence O. Corry

Nancy Dehmlow

Allan Drebin*

Erika Erich

Lafayette Ford

Anthony Freud

Mira Frohnmayer

Melvin Gray

Lynn Hauser

Mary Ellen Hennessy

Marty Hesse

Beatriz Iorgulescu

Loretta Julian

Louise Lane

Erma Medgysey

Helen Melchior

Frank B. Modruson^

Phyllis Neiman

John Nitschke

Susan Noel

Kenneth R. Norgan

Mike Oberman

Julian Oettinger

Gregory O’Leary

Jane DiRenzo Pigott 

Ted Reichardt^

Richard Ryan

Richard Shepro

Virginia Tobiason

Cynthia Vahlkamp

Harriet Weinstein

Jack Weiss

Joan Zajtchuk


Life Members

Katherine Abelson*

Virginia Cozad

Bernard Dobroski

Marilyn Heath

Susan Kiphart*

Jeanne Malkin

Keith A. Reed*

Orli Staley

William C. Vance*

Mrs. J.W. Van Gorkom*

Howard A. Vaughan, Jr.

Marilee Wehman

* Former President
^ Team Chair

Discover the Ryan Opera Center

Learn more about The Ryan Opera Center Ensemble, alumni, audition process, and more!

Learn More