Overview

Lyric Unlimited's Student Backstage Tours are led by guides whose training centers on teaching through engagement — questioning, discussion, and problem solving — and tapping into the unique qualities of each student group.

As students journey through the various production areas, they learn about the myriad elements that combine to create a grand opera performance and the vast array of professional skills involved. They see places and things that most Lyric patrons only dream of seeing, and they leave the tour with lasting insider knowledge about the world of opera.

 At least 10 people are needed to book a tour, 1 to 2 chaperones are required per group.

Grade Levels: 3-12
Tour Length: Approximately 80 minutes long per group
Cost: $7 per person

Parking and Directions to the Lyric Opera House

Accessibility:
Tours are accessible to visitors using a wheelchair or walker and to other guests who need to avoid stairs. Additional accommodations available upon request for patrons who are deaf or hard of hearing. Guide and service animals are allowed along the tour. 

For additional questions regarding tour accessibility, please contact backstagetours@lyricopera.org.

 

Reserve your 2019/20 Season Student Backstage Tour!

Student backstage tours will take place between 9:30am and 2pm on the following dates: 

Wednesday, October 9               Friday, February 14
Monday, October 21                   Thursday, February 27
Friday, November 1                    Monday, March 2
Friday, November 22                  Friday, March 6
Wednesday December 4            Thursday, May 7
Tuesday, December 10              Wednesday, May 13

RESERVE NOW! 

Student Backstage Tours are supported by the Shirley and Benjamin Gould Endowment Fund and Dan J. Epstein, Judy Guitelman, and the Dan J. Epstein Family Foundation.