Lyric Opera of Chicago
  • Carousel
  • Share
  • Print
    • Share
  • To Top

  • by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II

 

Join us in April 2015 for a new production at Lyric Opera!

Swaggering, carefree carnival barker, Billy Bigelow, captivates and marries the naive millworker, Julie Jordan. But all too soon, they fall on hard times and unbearable loss. Yet the power of love perseveres, as do the tuneful hits, in this masterpiece of American musical theater. You’ll hear “If I Loved You,” “June Is Bustin’ Out All Over,” and “You’ll Never Walk Alone” all set against the backdrop of an original new production from Lyric Opera, accompanied by the Lyric Chorus and Orchestra.

Billy Bigelow
Steven Pasquale

Julie Jordan
Laura Osnes

Nettie Fowler
Denyce Graves

Director/Choreographer
Rob Ashford

Conductor
David Chase

Remaining Cast
TBA

Music by Richard Rodgers. Book by Oscar Hammerstein II.

Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II.

Based on the play Liliom by Ferenc Molnár.

As adapted by Benjamin F. Glazer

New Lyric production generously made possible by The Negaunee Foundation, an Anonymous Donor, Robert S. and Susan E. Morrison, Mr. and Mrs. J. Christopher Reyes, Liz Stiffel, Mrs. Herbert A. Vance and Mr. and Mrs. William C. Vance, and Jim and Vicki Mills/Jon and Lois Mills.

Carousel - Steven Pasquale 

Billy Bigelow
Steven Pasquale*

Carousel - Laura Osnes 

Julie Jordan
Laura Osnes*

Carousel - Denyce Graves 

Nettie Fowler
Denyce Graves

Carousel - Rob Ashford 

Director/Choreographer
Rob Ashford

Carousel - David Chase 

Conductor
David Chase*

 

Set Designer
Paolo Ventura*

Carousel - Catherine Zuber

Costume Designer
Catherine Zuber

 

Lighting Designer
Neil Austin

Caroiusel - Michael Black 

Chorus Master
Michael Black

 

 

*Lyric Opera debut

Buy Tickets for Carousel

S M T W T F S

April

5
6
7
8
9
10
Friday Apr 10, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
11
Saturday Apr 11, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
12
Sunday Apr 12, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
13
14
Tuesday Apr 14, 2015
Please select a time
15
16
Thursday Apr 16, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
17
Friday Apr 17, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
18
Saturday Apr 18, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
19
Sunday Apr 19, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
20
21
Tuesday Apr 21, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
22
Wednesday Apr 22, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
23
Thursday Apr 23, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
24
Friday Apr 24, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
25
Saturday Apr 25, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
26
Sunday Apr 26, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
27
28
Tuesday Apr 28, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
29
Wednesday Apr 29, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
30
Thursday Apr 30, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets

May

1
Friday May 1, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
2
Saturday May 2, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
3
Sunday May 3, 2015
Please select a time
Buy Tickets
4
5
6
7
8
9
Select a date above or click here for Lyric's complete season calendar.