Lyric Opera of Chicago

Lyric Opera of Chicago Announces the 2010-2011 Roster of Singers for The Patrick G and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center

Press Release Letterhead
For Immediate Release:
Friday, December 18, 2009



Lyric Opera of Chicago
Announces the 2010-2011 Roster of Singers
The Patrick G and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center
Five talented young singers join six second- and third-year ensemble members


Gianna Rolandi, director of The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center at Lyric Opera of Chicago, is pleased to announce that soprano Jennifer Jakob, mezzo-soprano Emily Fons, tenor James Kryshak, baritone Paul Scholten, and bass Evan Boyer join current Ryan Opera Center soprano Amanda Majeski, mezzo-soprano Katherine Lerner, tenor René Barbera, baritone Paul La Rosa, and bass-baritones Sam Handley and Craig Irvin to make up the Ryan Opera Center’s 2010-2011 artistic roster beginning in April 2010. The 2010-2011 ensemble members are natives of Germany, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, New Jersey, New York (2), Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin.

Current Ryan Opera Center members who will depart after the 2009-2010 season are sopranos Andriana Chuchman, Angela Mannino, and Amber Wagner; mezzo-soprano Kathryn Leemhuis, tenor David Portillo, baritone Corey Crider, and bass-baritone Paul Corona. Chuchman, Wagner, Portillo, and Corona will complete their third year with the program in April; Mannino, Leemhuis, and Crider will conclude their second year at that time.

Each year The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center, the professional artist-development program of Lyric Opera of Chicago, selects gifted young singers from some 400 applicants. Soon after arriving at Lyric in April, incoming Ryan Opera Center members begin an intensive full-year residency under the guidance of Gianna Rolandi and numerous other opera professionals. Coaching sessions and master classes are augmented by performance and understudy experience in productions mounted by Lyric Opera of Chicago, including the eight operas of Lyric’s regular season. (Until September 2006, the program was known as the Lyric Opera Center for American Artists.)

The Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Opera Center at Lyric Opera of Chicago  2010-2011 Ensemble



Jennifer Jakob, Germany (1st year)

Amanda Majeski, Illinois (2nd year)



Emily Fons, Wisconsin (1st year)

Katherine Lerner, New York (3rd year)



René Barbera, Texas (2nd year)

James Kryshak, New York (1st year)



Paul La Rosa, New Jersey (2nd year)

Paul Scholten, Michigan (1st year)



Sam Handley, Tennessee (3rd year)

Craig Irvin, Iowa (3rd year)



Evan Boyer, Kentucky (1st year)